Customer Journey
Limited.

by Sabrina Dojlidko

There are five stages from the moment a customer’s interest is first aroused to the moment when a purchase is made. That is what the textbook says. Without empathy, you will get nowhere on the customer journey. That is what we say.

There is something comforting about the fact that technology is only a means to an end, and not the real driving force behind everything. The collection of data and the ability to draw digital conclusions are still yet to replace one thing: namely, human empathy. Without an understanding of what actually affects a customer, their journey towards the purchase of a product, towards absolute contentment with a service, will not be smooth sailing – or it will be a dead end.
Big data may be big; being able to recite the five textbook phases of the customer journey by heart even bigger; but the biggest thing of all is to know what a customer expects in a situation, and why. Only then has a company truly won.

What does the textbook actually say? That, at the beginning of the customer journey, the customer’s awareness of a product is created. Followed by favorability, purchasing consideration, the concrete intent to purchase and – last of all – the purchase itself. It makes sense, and can be influenced to our advantage in every phase by listening to the customer. Because it is not just products that you can design but processes, too. In every phase. Just as you can shape pain points along the way so that they turn into gain points. Into points of contact which positively surprise the customer.

As with any journey, the customer journey is also all about the moment when the traveller gets on board. With this, we immediately come up against a difficulty. In the times of e-commerce, of products and services which do not have spatial limitations, and of interruptions from reviews, you can no longer say at what point, at what stage of the trip, the customer is getting on board. Right at the start? Did we bring them onto the road ourselves, through the targeting of our aesthetic, through our communication? Or did they stumble across us by chance, whilst already travelling with a competitor? The fact is, they will only subsequently travel with us if we get them on board by showing that we understand their fundamental needs, and, with every further step, give them the feeling that, from now on, they have the best guide by their side.

There are so many differing needs. But investing time to observe, to carry out discussions, to run through processes from the customer’s point of view is always worth it.

That can happen in digital or analog form. It is best when the two are organically intertwined. To ensure you know that, here, you are not just being stubbornly directed towards the check-out by algorithms and programmers on the basis of a standard process. On the contrary: here, actual, real interactions, real empathy, real emotions are happening.

Here, someone has put themselves in my shoes. Here, someone really understands what was on my mind two days before I embarked on this journey. That’s why I just received this call, or this letter, or I received this email link to the explanatory video, so that my expectations of the coming days are completely different.

Here comes a flight attendant, before I can even ask, or even think of, the question, to assure me that, despite the current delay, my connecting flight will work and explains what my fastest route to the correct gate will be once we land.

There are so many differing needs. But investing time to observe, to carry out discussions, to run through processes from the customer’s point of view is always worth it. In this way, you, as a smaller operator, can sometimes undermine the digital simplicity which larger companies like Booking, Uber, Airbnb or Amazon can offer.

It is still possible to end up on a hotel’s website through which only a reservation request is possible, instead of a direct booking. That drags out the booking process, and drives customers who are anxious about the availability of the room right back to the convenient, larger websites, which they perhaps had a good reason to avoid.

In other words, the potential of a successful customer journey is enormous. You can think so far beyond the original horizons of e-commerce and the digital in general. It is a part of every brand identity which takes customers and communication seriously. ‘Markets are conversations’ reads the first of the 95 theses of the 1999 Cluetrain Manifesto about the relationship between companies and customers in the age of the internet. It is just as relevant today as it was then. The customer journey proves it.

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

Customer Journey
Limited.

von Sabrina Dojlidko

Vom gewecktem Interesse zum Kauf eines Produktes sind es fünf Etappen. Sagt das Lehrbuch. Ohne Empathie kommt man bei der so abgesteckten Customer Journey nirgendwo hin. Sagen wir.

Es hat ewas Tröstliches, dass Technologie nur ein Hilfsmittel ist, aber nicht die eigentliche Triebfeder. Das Sammeln von Daten und die Möglichkeit, digitale Rückschlüsse zu ziehen, ersetzt nämlich nach wie vor eines nicht: menschliche Empathie. Ohne das Verständnis dafür, was einen Kunden insgeheim bewegt, kommt seine Reise zum Kauf eines Produktes, zur absoluten Zufriedenheit mit einer Dienstleistung nicht so recht in Gang – oder endet unterwegs in Sackgassen.
Big data mag groß sein, die fünf Lehrbuchphasen der Customer Journey auswendig runterbeten zu können größer, aber am Größten ist es genau zu wissen, was ein Kunde in einer bestimmten Situation warum erwartet. Erst damit ist für ein Unternehmen alles gewonnen.

Was sagt das Lehrbuch eigentlich genau? Dass am Anfang der Customer Journey das Bewusstsein für ein Produkt geweckt wird. Gefolgt von der Favorisierung, dem Kaufwunsch, dem konkreten Anstoß, und – zu guter Letzt – dem Kauf selbst. Klingt schlüssig, und kann in jeder Phase durch Eingehen auf den Kunden zu unseren Gunsten beeinflusst werden. Denn nicht nur Produkte, auch Prozesse kann man designen. In jeder Phase. Genauso wie man die Pain Points entlang der Strecke so gestalten kann, dass sie zu Gain Points werden. Zu Kontaktpunkten, die den Kunden positiv überraschen.

Wie bei jeder Reise geht es auch bei der Customer Journey ums Abholen. Dabei stoßen wir gleich auf eine Schwierigkeit. In Zeiten des E-Commerce, des räumlich entgrenzten Angebots und der Zwischenrufe durch Bewertungen, lässt sich nicht länger sagen, an welchem Punkt, bei welcher Etappe des Trips der Kunde zusteigt. Gleich zu Beginn? Haben wir ihn etwa durch unsere Ästhetik, durch unsere Kommunikation selbst gezielt auf den Weg gebracht? Oder ist er unterwegs zu einem Mitbewerber zufällig über uns gestolpert? Fakt ist, er unternimmt die weitere Reise nur dann mit uns, wenn wir ihn bei seinem Grundbedürfnis abholen – und ihm bei jedem weiteren Schritt das Gefühl geben, von nun an den besten Guide an seiner Seite zu haben.

Es gibt so viele abweichende Bedürfnisse. Aber es lohnt sich, Zeit zu investieren, zu beobachten, Gespräche zu führen, Prozesse aus Sicht des Kunden zu durchlaufen.

Das kann digital oder analog passieren. Am besten organisch ineinander verzahnt. So dass man weiß, hier dirigieren einen nicht bloß Algorithmen und Programmierer auf Basis einheitlicher Prozesse stur zur Kasse, sondern hier passiert tatsächlich echte Interaktion, echte Anteilnahme, echte Emotion.

Hier hat sich jemand in meine Lage versetzt. Hier versteht jemand wirklich, welche Gedanken mich zwei Tage vor meinem Reisenatritt beschäftigten. Darum bekomme ich genau jetzt diesen Anruf, oder diesen Brief, bekomme ich per E-Mail diesen Link zu dem erklärenden Video, auf dass ich den nächsten Tagen gleich ganz anders entgegensehe.

Hier kommt eine Flugbegleiterin bevor ich auch nur zum Fragen komme, selbst auf mich zu, um mich zu beruhigen, dass es trotz der aktuellen Verspätung mit dem Anschlussflug klappt, und wie ich nach der Landung am schnellsten Weg zum richtigen Gate gelange.

Es gibt so viele abweichende Bedürfnisse. Aber es lohnt sich, Zeit zu investieren, zu beobachten, Gespräche zu führen, Prozesse aus Sicht des Kunden zu durchlaufen. Damit unterläuft man mitunter als Kleiner die digitale Einfachheit, die einem die Großen wie Booking, Uber, Airbnb oder Amazon voraus haben. Oder man bildet sie für sein eigenes Service ab.
Nach wie vor gelangt man auf Hotel-Websites auf denen statt einer Direktbuchung nur eine Reservierungsanfrage möglich ist. Das zieht das Buchen in die Länge und treibt die um die Verfügbarkeit des Zimmers bangenden Gäste erst recht wieder auf die bequemen Portale, die sie vielleicht aus guten Gründen vermeiden möchten.

Anders gesagt, das Potenzial einer gelungenen Customer Journey ist enorm. So fern man über den ursprünglichen Horizont des E-Commerce und des Digitalen generell hinaus denkt. Es ist Teil jeder Brand Identity, die Kommunikation und Kunden ernst nimmt. „Märkte sind Gespräche“ lautete 1999 die erste der 95 Thesen des Cluetrain Manifesto zum Verhältnis von Unternehmen und ihren Kunden im Zeitalter des Internets. Sie ist heute noch so gültig wie damals. Die Customer Journey beweist es.