© HEAD

Head
Design on skis.

As an international leading manufacturer of branded sporting goods, Head specialises in the following core areas: winter, racket and diving sports as well as sportswear and licences. No one should be surprised that even famous athletes have their eye on the brand.

https://www.head.com
Task

Head holds the leading position in its product markets and in addition to other areas also distributes well-known brands such as Penn or Tyrolia. The high brand recognition has resulted in numerous collaborations with top athletes such as Lindsey Vonn and Ted Ligety. The 2014/15 winter season’s aim was a consistent, clear brand experience and a strong positioning for both the women's and men's collections. For this reason, a new brand story and design were generated in coordination with the label and a consistent solution in the form of a holistic, brand-typical (ski) design could be been achieved.

Solution

For Head there are no compromises when it comes to quality and implementation. In joint workshops an innovation strategy was derived and a design tailored to the target group was created. Two different design lines were developed for the women's collection and six different models as well as ideas for new materials and surfaces. Selected designs were conceptually applied not only to the skis but also to shoes, bindings and poles - the basis for a successful market launch. The product design is based on minimalism, details and clear, graphic elements, as well as dynamically rounded edges - this benefits both more aggressive and more comfortable riders and ensures optimum riding pleasure.
The men's collection was based on the existing innovation and brand strategy and was used to create a holistic design that is characteristic of the brand. From being a technology-driven and performance-oriented brand to incorporating fresh values such as spontaneity, style and courage. On this basis we defined the design characteristics and developed two different proposals for the product lines "Race" and "Performance".

Our Services

Industrial Design
Brand Identity
Consulting

Credits

Customer
HEAD Sport GmbH

Creative Direction
Daniel Huber

Consulting
Maria Traunmüller
Edith Hammerschid


Product Design
Juraj Maly
Thomas Maly
Raimund Klausegger

Graphic Design
Gabriela Lippay
Guilaume Korompay
Rainer Flassak
Nina Lindl-Lode
Agathe Habacher

© HEAD

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

© HEAD

Head
Design auf zwei Brettern.

Head hat sich als international führender Hersteller für Marken-Sportartikel auf folgende Kernbereiche spezialisiert: Winter-, Racket- und Tauchsport sowie Sportbekleidung und Lizenzen. Dass auch berühmte Sportler ein Auge auf die Marke geworfen haben, verwundert daher niemanden.

Aufgabenstellung

In seinen Produktmärkten hat Head die führende Marktposition inne und vertreibt neben unterschiedlichen Segmenten auch namhafte Marken wie Penn oder Tyrolia. Aus dem hohen Bekanntheitsgrad resultieren deshalb zahlreiche Kooperationen mit Top-Athleten wie Lindsey Vonn oder Ted Ligety. Für die Wintersaison 2014/15 zielte man auf eine durchgängige, klare Brand Experience und eine starke Positionierung für sowohl die Damen- als auch die Herrenkollektion ab. Aus diesem Grund wurde in Abstimmung mit dem Label eine neue Brand Story und ein neues Markendesign generiert und so eine durchgängige Lösung in Form eines ganzheitlichen, markentypischen (Ski-) Designs erzielt.

Lösung

In Punkto Qualität und Detailumsetzung kennt Head keine Kompromisse. Bei gemeinsamen Workshops wurde deshalb eine Innovationsstrategie abgeleitet und ein zielgruppengerechtes Design entwickelt. Für die Damenkollektion wurden insgesamt zwei unterschiedliche Designlinien erarbeitet und sechs verschiedene Modelle sowie Ideen für neuartige Materialien und Oberflächen. Ausgewählte Designs wurden neben den Skiern konzeptionell auch auf Schuhe, Bindungen und Stöcke übertragen – die Grundlage für den erfolgreichen Marktlaunch. Die Produktgestaltung setzt auf Minimalismus, Details und klare, grafische Elemente sowie dynamisch gerundete Kanten– das kommt sowohl aggressiveren wie auch gemütlicheren Riderinnen zugute und sichert ein optimales Fahrvergnügen.

Bei der Herrenkollektion stützten man sich auf die bestehende Innovations- und Markenstrategie und gestalteten ausgehend von dieser ein ganzheitliches, für die Brand charakteristisches Design. Von der technologie-getriebenen und performance-orientierten Marke, hin zu frischen Werten wie Spontanität, Style und Mut. Auf dieser Basis definierten wir die Designcharakteristik und entwickelten jeweils zwei unterschiedliche Vorschläge für die Produktlinien „Race“ und „Performance“.

Unsere Services

Industrial Design
Brand Identity
Consulting

Credits

Kunde
HEAD Sport GmbH

Creative Direction
Daniel Huber

Consulting
Maria Traunmüller
Edith Hammerschid


Produkt Design
Juraj Maly
Thomas Maly
Raimund Klausegger

Grafikdesign
Gabriela Lippay
Guilaume Korompay
Rainer Flassak
Nina Lindl-Lode
Agathe Habacher

© HEAD

sign up for our
newsletter
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close