Détroit is the new black
Baby, come back

There's probably no other city in the world that has experienced a more spectacular downfall than Detroit. Ethnic riots, automobile crisis, declaration of bankruptcy. Despite all predictions of a ruin, the Motor City has risen from the ashes and is now considered the most exciting metropolis in the USA by insiders. Right in the middle: Roslyn Karamoko and her brand Détroit Is The New Black.

https://www.detroitisthenewblack.com/
Task

Abandoned districts and decayed streets have shaped the picture of what once was a super rich Motor City and have damaged its image massively. Over the last years (survival) artists have – nearly unrecognised – conquered forgotten houses and factory buildings and filled them with their ideas. Those who travel to Detroit now discover cool galleries, manufactories, stores, shops and clubs and experience a stirring creative atmosphere that shows the American Dream still works. With courage, stamina and pioneering spirit that you can feel all over Detroit now. Roslyn Karamoko, born in Seattle, is a part of this community, in love with the raw charm of the city and the general atmosphere of departure. With her powerful brand Détroit Is The New Black she has created a movement providing identity for all those that feel connected to the city and her spirit. With big success, a flagship store in downtown and moodley's team that was chosen to support “The Motor City’s Hottest Designer“ (TIME magazine): Proud to be part of it!

Solution

Roslyn Karamokos Détroit Is The New Black is a genius statement, that unites past, present and the city's future with its inhabitants. Her store offers room for exhibitions, trunk shows, poetry slams, fundraising parties and private events to locals and reminds everyone of the fact that culture, art and fashion are one. Fascinated by the mastermind Roslyn and the city's pull, moodley has developed the strong five-word logo discreetly further and has helped to extend the brand's appearance to be a part in the shiny comeback of Detroit.

Our Services

Brand Identity
Brand Communication
Package Design

Credits

Client:
Detroit is the new black

Art Direction:
Sabine Kernbichler

Project Management & Consulting:
Birgit Taucher

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

Détroit is the new black
Baby, come back

Wohl keine andere Stadt der Welt hat einen spektakuläreren Niedergang hingelegt als Detroit. Rassenunruhen, Automobilkrise, Bankrotterklärung. Allen Untergangsprophezeiungen zum Trotz hat sich die Motor City aus der Asche erhoben und gilt Insidern inzwischen als aufregendste Metropole der USA. Mittendrin: Roslyn Karamoko und ihr Brand Détroit Is The New Black.

https://www.detroitisthenewblack.com
Aufgabenstellung

Verlassene Stadtteile und verfallene Straßenzüge haben das Bild der einst superreichen Motor City nachhaltig geprägt und ihr Image massiv beschädigt. Fast unbemerkt vom Rest der Welt haben (Überlebens-)Künstler in den letzten Jahren verwaiste Häuser und Industriehallen erobert und den Leerstand mit ihren Ideen gefüllt. Wer jetzt nach Detroit reist, entdeckt coole Galerien, Manufakturen, Lokale, Shops und Clubs und erlebt eine mitreißend kreative Stimmung, die zeigt, dass der American Dream noch immer funktioniert. Mit Mut, Stehvermögen und Pioniergeist, der inzwischen durch ganz Detroit weht. Die in Seattle geborene Roslyn Karamoko ist Teil dieser Community, verliebt in den rauen Charme der Stadt und in die allgemeine Aufbruchsstimmung. Mit ihrem kraftvollen Brand Détroit Is The New Black hat sie eine identitätsstiftende Bewegung geschaffen, für alle, die sich der Stadt und ihrem Spirit zugehörig fühlen. Mit großem Erfolg, einem Flagship Store in Downtown und dem moodley-Team, das „The Motor City’s Hottest Designer“ (TIME Magazin) unterstützen darf: Proud to be part of it!

Lösung

Roslyn Karamokos Détroit Is The New Black ist ein geniales Statement, das Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft der Stadt und ihrer Bewohner vereint. Ihr Store bietet Locals Raum für Ausstellungen, Trunk Shows, Poetry Slams, Fundraising Partys und private Events und erinnert daran, dass Kultur, Kunst und Mode eins sind. Fasziniert vom Mastermind Roslyn und dem Sog der Stadt, hat moodley das starke Five-Words-Logo dezent weiterentwickelt und dabei geholfen, den Auftritt der Marke auszubauen und am glänzenden Comeback von Detroit mitzuwirken.

Unsere Services

Brand Identity
Brand Communication
Package Design

Credits

Kunde:
Detroit is the new black

Art Direction:
Sabine Kernbichler

Projektmanagement & Consulting:
Birgit Taucher

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close