MPREIS Alpmehl
Coarse, all-purpose or minimalist

The “Alpmehl”, as you can find it on the shelves of MPREIS, is a thoroughly pure product. But with a timeless product like flour there isn’t anything to add, anyway. Which is also true for the packaging of “Alpmehl”. It is a statement of clarity.

Task

Packaging design has two tasks in food trade. One: It defines the product’s look. Two: It also acts as an indicator for the price. So when there was a new product of MPREIS, which is one of Austria’s largest supermarket chains, there was a packaging like this needed – namely one, that customers will found appealing, high-quality, but still a good value for their money. The product we are talking about? The store brand “Alpmehl”, that becomes a competitor for other suppliers deliberately. Which is why it has to stand out on the product shelf.

Solution

Connect flour. The packaging design makes the Alpmehl’s pure character visible. This is why it is memorably minimalist and without frills. With a design system, that leaves everything out that abstracts – for more merchandise density and lots of recognition value. The modern typography underlines the product’s name and its advantages. Every flour type – all-purpose, coarse, spelt, rye and for cakes – also has its own “colour hat”, that completes the simple white with a five-coloured guidance system. So that customers always grab the right Alpmehl, which then fulfils its destiny: by becoming a delicious cake for example.

Our Services

Packaging Design
Rollout & Go to Market Concept
Brand Consulting

Credits

Client
MPREIS Warenvertriebs GmbH

Project Management & Consulting
Sabrina Dojlidko

Creative Direction
Mike Fuisz

Art Direction
Lena Wurm, Sabine Kernbichler

Grafic Design
Lena Wurm

Portfolio-Photography
Lumikki

more from
MPREIS
sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

MPREIS Alpmehl
Griffig, glatt und gnadenlos minimalistisch

Das Alpmehl, wie man es in den Regalen von MPREIS findet, ist ein durch und durch reines Produkt. Bei einem so zeitlosen Produkt wie Mehl gibt es auch nichts mehr hinzuzufügen. Das gilt übrigens genauso für die Verpackung des Alpmehls. Die ist nämlich ein Statement der Klarheit.

Aufgabenstellung

Im Lebensmittelhandel hat Packaging Design gleich zwei Aufgaben: Es ist einerseits Gestaltungsmerkmal, andererseits Preisindikator. Für ein neues Produkt von MPREIS, eine der größten Supermarktketten Österreichs, war genau eine solche Verpackung gefragt – also eine, die Kunden als ansprechend, qualitativ hochwertig und dennoch preiswert wahrnehmen. Das Produkt? Die Eigenmarke „Alpmehl“, die bewusst in Konkurrenz zu anderen Anbietern tritt. Und gerade deshalb durch Andersartigkeit im Warenregal auffallen sollte.

Lösung

Weniger ist mehl. Das Packaging Design macht den reinen Charakter, der das Alpmehl auszeichnet, sichtbar. Darum ist es einprägsam minimalistisch und gnadenlos schnörkelfrei. Mit einem Designsystem, das alles weglässt, was ablenkt – für mehr Warendruck und viel Wiedererkennungswert. Die moderne Typografie unterstreicht Produktname und -vorteile. Zudem trägt jede Mehlsorte – glatt, griffig, aus Dinkel, Roggen oder für Kuchen – eine großzügige „Farbhaube", die das simple Weiß der Papierverpackung mit einem fünffarbigen Leitsystem ergänzt. Damit Kunden gezielt zum richtigen Alpmehl greifen und es seiner Bestimmung folgen kann: zum Beispiel ein köstlicher Kuchen zu werden.

Unsere Services

Packaging Design
Rollout & Markteinführung
Strategische Begleitung

Credits

Kunde
MPREIS Warenvertriebs GmbH

Projektmanagement & Consulting
Sabrina Dojlidko

Creative Direction
Mike Fuisz

Art Direction
Lena Wurm, Sabine Kernbichler

Grafik Design
Lena Wurm

Portfolio-Fotografie
Lumikki

more from
MPREIS
sign up for our
newsletter
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close