Vagabund Moto
Get your motor running!

For its owner a motorcycle is more than a just a means of transportation. It is true love. And sometimes even art. As is the case with the bikes of Vagabund Moto. A selection of their custom-crafted bikes can now also be admired in book form. For all the times, when you are not on your bike, but are eagerly awaiting your next trip.

Task

The tale of garages as the birthplace of global corporations has been told time and time again. But it’s rare that successful companies stay in garage mode. For Paul Brauchart and Philipp Rabl, the founders of the cult brand Vagabund Moto, their workshop is the central place of their business. The pair designs and builds motorcycles by hand. Valuable, unique bikes, carefully assembled piece by piece, aesthetically and technically one of a kind. They are not fancy, but classy: a combination of craftsmanship and the art of omission. They are anything but standard. They are maximally beautiful. It is no surprise that the creators wanted to dedicate an illustrated book to their works of art that sometimes take them up to a year to complete.

Solution

feel the temptation when leafing through the Vagabund illustrated book. The steel-grey, cardboard cover with it’s fine stitching is subtly understated, the typo is large and yet simple, the images speak for themselves. Photos, drawings and detailed pictures showcase the pure beauty of the motorcycles and their individual parts. Grey, black and white stand for casual chic and minimalism. But despite all the coolness: The two "vagabunds" Paul Brauchart and Philipp Rabl do not like to abide by norms and rules and break the usual design patterns in the design of their coffee table book. So put your helmet on and let the elegance of each individual line work its magic on you. No doubt: these motorcycles are art.

Our Services

Publishing

Credits

Design
Lena Wurm, Kristina Kurre

Photography
Stefan Leitner
Julian Pircher
Moritz Lechner
Florian Lierzer
Max Mauthner
Michael Wipfler
Shutterstock (Tuomas Lehtinen, sripfoto)
Vagabund

Illustration
Lena Wurm
Vagabund

Copywriting
Thomas Pokorn

Editing and Proofreading
Philip Iroh

Project Management
Lukas Habl

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

Vagabund Moto
Helm auf.

Ein Motorrad ist für seinen Besitzer mehr als ein Fortbewegungsmittel. Es ist wahre Liebe. Und manchmal sogar Kunst. Wie bei der Grazer Manufaktur „Vagabund Moto“. Eine Auswahl ihrer handgefertigten Einzelstücke ist nun auch in Buchform zu bewundern. Für die Zeiten, in denen man nicht auf seinem Bike unterwegs sein kann, sondern sehnsüchtig auf den nächsten Trip wartet.

Aufgabenstellung

Dass Garagen Geburtsstätten von Weltkonzernen sind, hat man schon oft gelesen. Dass erfolgreiche Unternehmen im Garagenmodus bleiben, eher selten. Bei Paul Brauchart und Philipp Rabl, den Gründern der Kultmarke Vagabund Moto, ist die Werkstatt der zentrale Ort ihres Business. Die zwei designen und fertigen Motorräder in Handarbeit. Wertvolle Unikate, Stück für Stück sorgfältig zusammengebaut, ästhetisch und technisch einzigartig. Nicht fancy, sondern classy. Eine Kombination aus Handwerkskunst und der Kunst des Weglassens. Alles andere als Standard, sondern maximale Schönheit. Klar, dass die Macher ihren Kunstwerken, an denen sie schon mal bis zu einem Jahr feilen, ein Erinnerungsbuch widmen wollten.

Lösung

Wer selbst Motorrad fährt, weiß, dass das Wort Liebe in diesem Zusammenhang nicht zu hoch gegriffen ist. Und alle anderen spüren beim Blättern durch das Vagabund Coffee Table Book vielleicht zumindest so etwas wie Versuchung. Der stahlgraue, kartonierte Einband mit Fadenheftung nimmt sich dezent zurück, die Typo ist groß und dennoch schlicht, die Bilder sprechen für sich. Fotos, Zeichnungen und Detailaufnahmen zeigen die pure Schönheit der Motorräder und ihrer Einzelteile. Grau, Schwarz und Weiß stehen für Lässigkeit und Minimalismus. Aber bei aller Coolness: Die zwei „Vagabunden“ Paul Brauchart und Philipp Rabl halten sich nicht gerne an Normen und Regeln und durchbrechen auch beim Design des Bildbandes die gewohnten Gestaltungsmuster. Also Helm auf und die Eleganz jeder einzelnen Linie in Ruhe auf sich wirken lassen. Kein Zweifel: Diese Motorräder sind Kunst.

Unsere Services

Publishing

Credits

Design
Lena Wurm, Kristina Kurre

Photography
Stefan Leitner
Julian Pircher
Moritz Lechner
Florian Lierzer
Max Mauthner
Michael Wipfler
Shutterstock (Tuomas Lehtinen, sripfoto)
Vagabund

Illustration
Lena Wurm
Vagabund

Copywriting
Thomas Pokorn

Editing and Proofreading
Philip Iroh

Projektmanagement
Lukas Habl

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close