Wenzel Wein – Packaging
Picture perfect wine

Outstanding wines deserve exceptional packaging. That’s why the ones by Michael Wenzel’s capture very special moments not just inside the bottles, but also on the outside.

Task

Michael Wenzel, 12th generation winemaker from Rust, and his partner Sonja Priller make wine differently than most of their colleagues. The natural wine contains – as the name suggests – the very best of nature: organic cultivated grapes, exclusively natural yeast, spontaneously fermented grape juice from autochthonous varieties and of course a lot of instinct and understanding. This creates snapshots of the interplay between craft and nature. Captured in an extraordinary wine. In the packaging of the “Analogue” series, those wines should come together with a medium that can take such snapshots in a completely different way: photography. In cooperation with moodley, however, this unusual idea was turned into a completely new packaging concept for all Wenzel wines.

Solution

With his partner, the photographer Sonja Priller, winemaker Michael Wenzel developed the idea of combining natural wine and nature photography in a new wine series. Originally a concept idea for the bottles of the “Analogue” series, this ultimately resulted in a comprehensive redesign of the look of all Wenzel bottles. For this purpose, elements from nature, which determine the creation of this wine so profoundly, were put on the front labels, matching the respective character. The cloudy wines of the “Wild + Free” category, fermented with wild yeasts, are emblazoned with a cloud, while the “Autark” series, which is only made from autochthonous varieties, it’s the stork, that is so typical for Rust and Burgenland. The “Analogue” series, on the other hand, has changing motifs, which are also available in a limited edition as a print.

The photos can be found on the labels in homage to the Polaroid and thus build a bridge to the craft that connects photography and winemaking. The new labels are matched by a capsule in a special colour. The rose tone brings emotion and femininity, which are often missing in the wine-world into the design. This colour, which is unique in this context, was inspired by the term skin contact – another term for the maceration.

Our Services

Branding
Packaging Design

Credits

Client
Weingut Michael Wenzel

Design Director
Nora Obergeschwandner

Graphic Design
Nora Obergeschwandner

Project management
Katharina Pristolic

Photography
Sonja Priller

Portfolio Photography
Aaron Jiang

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

Wenzel Wein – Packaging
Ein Bild von einem Wein.

Außergewöhnliche Weine verdienen eine außergewöhnliche Verpackung. Deshalb sind nicht nur in, sondern auch auf den Flaschen von Michael Wenzel ganz besondere Moment festgehalten.

Aufgabenstellung

Michael Wenzel, Weinbauer aus Rust in der 12. Generation, macht mit seiner Partnerin Sonja Priller Wein anders als die meisten ihrer Kollegen. In dem Naturwein steckt – der Name verrät es – das beste aus der Natur, aus biologischem Anbau, ausschließlich Naturhefe, spontan vergorener Traubensaft aus autochthonen Rebsorten und natürlich viel Fingerspitzengefühl. So entstehen Momentaufnahmen des Zusammenspiels von Handwerk und Natur. Festgehalten in einem außergewöhnlichen Wein. In der Verpackung der Wein-Serie „Analogue“ sollten diese mit einem Medium, dem solche Aufnahmen auf ganz andere Weise gelingen, zusammenfinden: mit der Fotografie. Gemeinsam mit moodley wurde aus dieser ungewöhnlichen Idee dann allerdings ein komplett neues Verpackungskonzept für alle Weine aus dem Hause Wenzel.

Lösung

Gemeinsam mit seiner Lebenspartnerin, der Fotografin Sonja Priller entwickelte Winzer Michael Wenzel die Idee, Naturwein und Natur-Fotografie in einer neuen Wein-Serie zu verbinden. Im Rahmen der Konzeptentwicklung für die Flaschen der „Analogue“-Serie wurde daraus schließlich eine umfassende Neugestaltung des Looks aller Wenzel-Flaschen. Dafür wurden Elemente jener Natur, die die Entstehung dieses Weins so nachhaltig bestimmt, passend zum jeweiligen Charakter, auf die Vorderetiketten gebracht. Auf den mit wilden Hefen vergorenen, trüben Weinen der Kategorie „Wild+Free“, prangt eine Wolke, auf der Serie „Autark“, die nur aus autochthonen Sorten gekeltert wird, der für Rust und das Burgenland so typische Storch. Die Serie „Analogue“ dagegen erhält wechselnde Motive, die es auch in einer limitierten Auflage als Print zu erwerben gibt.

Auf den Etiketten finden sich die Fotos in einer Hommage an das Polaroid wieder und schlagen so die Brücke zum analogen Handwerk, das Fotografie und Weinmachen verbindet. Ergänzt wird das neue Etikett durch eine Kapsel in besonderer Farbe. Ein Roséton der Emotion und Weiblichkeit ins Design bringt, die in diesem Context fehlen. Inspiriert wurde diese in der Weinwelt einzigartige Farbe übrigens vom skin contact – dem englischen Begriff für die Maischestandzeit.

Unsere Services

Branding
Packaging Design

Credits

Kunde
Weingut Michael Wenzel

Design Director
Nora Obergeschwandner

Graphic Design
Nora Obergeschwandner

Projektmanagement
Katharina Pristolic

Fotografie
Sonja Priller

Portfoliofotografie
Aaron Jiang

sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close