Transforming racing for the electric age

DTM

How does racing need to look so that it remains relevant in the future and keeps inspiring people? Almost all racing series worldwide are asking themselves this question at the moment. DTM and its technology partners have found a clear answer: Extraordinary design ensures the wow effect, and makes peak performance in the new DTM Electric series visible and tangible.

Services

Styling Fahrzeugkarosserie
Entwicklung und Produktion des 1:1 Modells
Storytelling/Promotion-Filme
Visualisierungen (CGI)
Motion Design/Animationen
Fahrzeug Branding
Design für Service- und Show Box
Design für Helm und Overall

Team

Daniel Huber
Maria Traunmüller
Manuel Fröschl-Roßboth
Raimund Klausegger
Tomas Maly
Vinzenz Wörtl

From concept...

What is typical about the appearance of DTM racing vehicles is their silhouette, which is based on production models. This needs to remain a key feature in the future. At the same time, however, the DTM Electric racing cars will have up to 1000 electric horsepower, the torque of which will ensure incomparable acceleration. Together with high-end aerodynamics and outstanding racing performance, impressive cornering and top speeds a striking feature of the new racing series. The styling of the prototype, developed by moodley industrial design, embodies exactly these characteristics. The aerodynamically optimized, futuristic lines create a recognizable shape that also visually leads the DTM into a clean future.

...to prototype and onto the track.

First, the design was cast into a fully functional technology demonstrator. Starting from this basis, the moodley industrial design team further developed the aerodynamically optimized race styling into the current prototypical design. It will be the basis for all DTM Electric racing vehicles. The shape specifications for the body also give the participating teams, manufacturers and sponsor partners the opportunity to integrate brand-specific, individual elements in defined areas and thus bring their brand identity into the DTM Electric. Starting in 2024, the electric cars will be on display at full speed and hopefully elicit a WOW or two from the spectators.

dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_illustration
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_detailansicht
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_heckansicht
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_seitenansicht
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_detailansicht_hinten
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_seitlich

more work

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
privacy settings

This site uses third-party website tracking technologies to provide and continually improve our services. I agree and may revoke or change my consent at any time with effect for the future. See also our Privacy Policy and Imprint.

Transforming racing for the electric age

DTM

Wie muss Racing aussehen, damit es auch in Zukunft relevant bleibt und die Menschen begeistert? Diese Frage stellen sich im Moment fast alle Rennserien rund um den Globus. Für die DTM ist man gemeinsam mit den Technologiepartnern der Serie zu einem eindeutigen Ergebnis gelangt. Außergewöhnliches Design sorgt für den Wow-Effekt. Und macht die technologischen Höchstleistungen der neuen DTM Electric Serie sicht-und erlebbar.

Services

Styling Fahrzeugkarosserie
Entwicklung und Produktion des 1:1 Modells
Storytelling/Promotion-Filme
Visualisierungen (CGI)
Motion Design/Animationen
Fahrzeug Branding
Design für Service- und Show Box
Design für Helm und Overall

Team

Daniel Huber
Maria Traunmüller
Manuel Fröschl-Roßboth
Raimund Klausegger
Tomas Maly
Vinzenz Wörtl

Vom Konzept…

Das Typische am Erscheinungsbild von DTM Rennfahrzeugen ist ihre Silhouette, die auf Serienmodellen basiert. Das soll auch in Zukunft so bleiben. Gleichzeitig werden in den DTM Electric-Rennwagen jedoch bis zu 1000 Elektro-PS stecken, deren Drehmoment für unvergleichliche Beschleunigung sorgt. Gemeinsam mit der High-End-Aerodynamik und einer herausragenden Rennperformance machen sie beeindruckende Kurven- und Höchstgeschwindigkeiten zu einem herausstechenden Merkmal der neuen Rennserie. Das, von moodley industrial design entwickelte, Styling des Prototyps verkörpert genau diese Charakteristiken. Die aerodynamisch optimierte, puristische Linienführung schafft eine wiedererkennbare Form, welche die DTM auch optisch in eine saubere Zukunft führt.

…zum Prototypen und auf die Strecke

Zunächst wurde das Design in einen voll funktionsfähigen Technologie-Demonstrator gegossen. Von dieser Basis ausgehend entwickelte das Team von moodley industrial design das aerodynamische Race-Styling der Karosserie weiter, bis daraus das aktuelle, prototypische Design entstand, das nun die Grundlage für alle DTM Electric-Rennfahrzeuge darstellen wird. Die Form-Vorgaben an die Karosserie geben den teilnehmenden Teams, Herstellern und Sponsor-Partnern aber auch die Möglichkeit, in definierten Bereichen markenspezifische, individuelle Elemente zu integrieren und so ihre Marken-Identität in die DTM Electric zu bringen. Ab 2024 werden die elektrischen Boliden dann in voller Geschwindigkeit zu bewundern sein und den Zuschauer*innen hoffentlich das eine oder andere Wow entlocken.

dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_illustration
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_detailansicht
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_heckansicht
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_seitenansicht
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_detailansicht_hinten
dtm_prototype_moodley_industrial_design_fahrzeug_seitlich

more work

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
privacy settings

This site uses third-party website tracking technologies to provide and continually improve our services. I agree and may revoke or change my consent at any time with effect for the future. See also our Privacy Policy and Imprint.