© ÖBB

ÖBB Railjet / Cityjet
Always worth a ride.

Every year, the Austrian Federal Railways (German abbreviation: ÖBB) convey around 460 million passengers from A to B and are always concerned about their comfort and safety. Professionalism should now also be visually perceptible and wrapped in a universal design.

Task

In the course of restructuring, the ÖBB have among other things set themselves the goal of increasing their competitiveness. Of particular importance for this strategy is the high-speed train Railjet. From the end of 2015, the company fleet has been gradually expanded by 100 new local and regional trains in Vienna, Lower Austria, Upper Austria and Styria. As a result, Daniel Huber was commissioned by Siemens to prepare the entire exterior and interior design and, on behalf of the ÖBB, also to design a comprehensive brand world, i.e. the Railjet brand design.

Solution

With the modernisation of its vehicle fleet, ÖBB set an ambitious example for the European railway network. Daniel Huber and his team developed a harmonious design concept, which is noticeable as a continuous user experience at the most important customer contact point, the train, as well as all other design elements. Optimum recognisability is guaranteed by the logo designed in the style of the ÖBB Railjet. The shape, colour and lines of the Railjet convey a feeling of dynamism and speed. The main element, the striking, large lettering on the vehicle, reinforces this. High-quality materials were used for the interior, creating a comfortable and luxurious atmosphere. The Cityjet was also designed in such a way that it offers its passengers mobile living space and individual security. High quality and a sophisticated, daytime-controlled lighting design round off the harmonious and innovative overall picture and give passengers a feeling of comfort and safety. In addition, each seat is equipped with a reading lamp, socket and fold-out laptop table. The service zone offers additional space for wheelchair users, pushchairs and bicycles. This creates an optimal travel experience in line with Universal Design.

Our Services

Exterior and Interior Design
Brand Identity
Consulting

Credits

Customer
ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG

Creative Direction
Daniel Huber

Art Direction
Raimund Klausegger
Thomas Maly

Project management
Raimund Klausegger
Thomas Maly

Consulting
Maria Traunmüller

Product Design
Raimund Klausegger
Juraj Maly
Thomas Maly

Graphic design
Maria Traunmüller
Guilaume Korompay
Nina Lindl-Lode
Rainer Flassak

© Image top left: ÖBB

© ÖBB

Every year, the Austrian Federal Railways (German abbreviation: ÖBB) convey around 460 million passengers from A to B and are always concerned about their comfort and safety.

MODERNISATION

With the modernisation of its vehicle fleet, ÖBB set an ambitious example for the European railway network.

© Rendering Tricon

© Image on the left: ÖBB, images on the right: Tricon

CITYJET

The Cityjet was also designed in such a way that it offers its passengers mobile living space and individual security. High quality and a sophisticated, daytime-controlled lighting design round off the harmonious and innovative overall picture and give passengers a feeling of comfort and safety.

© ÖBB

© ÖBB

© ÖBB

© ÖBB

RAILJET

The shape, colour and lines of the Railjet convey a feeling of dynamism and speed.

© Tricon

more from
ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG
sign up for our
newsletter
Ich stimme der Datenschutzerklärung zu.
Vielen Dank für die Anmeldung!
close

© ÖBB

ÖBB Railjet / Cityjet
Immer eine Fahrt wert.

Die Österreichischen Bundesbahnen befördern jährlich rund 460 Millionen Fahrgäste von A nach B und sind dabei stets auf den Komfort und die Sicherheit ihrer Fahrgäste bedacht. Professionalität sollte nun auch optisch spürbar und in ein Universal Design gehüllt werden.

Aufgabenstellung

Im Zuge einer Neustrukturierung hat sich die ÖBB unter anderem eine Steigerung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zum Ziel gesetzt. Von besonderer Bedeutung für diese Strategie war dabei der Hochgeschwindigkeitszug ÖBB Railjet. Ab Ende 2015 wurde die ÖBB-Flotte schrittweise um 100 neue Nah- und Regionalverkehrszügen in Wien, Niederösterreich, Oberösterreich und der Steiermark erweitert. Daniel Huber und sein Team wurde im Zuge dessen von Siemens für die Aufbereitung des gesamten Exterior und Interior Designs und im direkten Auftrag der ÖBB auch mit der Konzipierung einer umfassenden Markenwelt, also dem Railjet Branddesign, beauftragt.

Lösung

Mit der Modernisierung ihrer Fahrzeugflotte setzten die ÖBB ein ambitioniertes Zeichen für das europäische Bahnnetz. Daniel Huber und sein Team entwickelten ein stimmiges Designkonzept welches als durchgängige User Experience am wichtigsten Kundenkontaktpunkt Zug und allen weiteren Designelementen spürbar wird. Optimale Wiedererkennbarkeit wird durch das in Anlehnung an den ÖBB Railjet gestaltete Logo gewährleistet. Form, Farbe sowie Linienführung des Railjets vermitteln ein Gefühl von Dynamik und Geschwindigkeit. Das Hauptelement, der markante, große Schriftzug an den Fahrzeugen, verstärkt das zusätzlich. Beim Innenraum wurde auf hochwertige Materialien gesetzt, was eine behagliche und luxuriöse Atmosphäre schafft. Auch der Cityjet wurde so gestaltet, dass er seinen Passagieren mobilen Lebensraum und individuelle Geborgenheit bietet. Hohe Qualität und ein durchdachtes, tageszeitgesteuertes Lichtdesign runden das stimmige und innovative Gesamtbild ab und vermitteln den Fahrgästen ein Gefühl von Komfort und Sicherheit. Außerdem ist jeder Sitzplatz ist mit einer Leselampe, Steckdose und ausklappbarem Laptop-Tisch ausgestattet. Zusätzlichen Raum für Rollstuhlfahrer, Kinderwägen und Fahrräder bietet die Servicezone. Dadurch entsteht ein optimales Reiseerlebnis ganz im Sinne des Universal Designs.

Unsere Services

Exterior und Interior Design
Brand Identity
Consulting

Credits

Kunde
ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG

Creative Direction
Daniel Huber

Art Direction
Raimund Klausegger
Thomas Maly

Projektmanagement
Raimund Klausegger
Thomas Maly

Consulting
Maria Traunmüller

Produkt Design
Raimund Klausegger
Juraj Maly
Thomas Maly

Grafikdesign
Maria Traunmüller
Guilaume Korompay
Nina Lindl-Lode
Rainer Flassak

© Bild links oben: ÖBB

© ÖBB

Die Österreichischen Bundesbahnen befördern jährlich rund 460 Millionen Fahrgäste von A nach B und sind dabei stets auf deren Komfort und Sicherheit bedacht.

MODERNISIERUNG

Mit der Modernisierung ihrer Fahrzeugflotte setzten die ÖBB ein ambitioniertes Zeichen für das europäische Bahnnetz. Daniel Huber und sein Team entwickelten ein stimmiges Designkonzept, welches als durchgängige User Experience am wichtigsten Kundenkontaktpunkt Zug und allen weiteren Designelementen spürbar wird.

© Rendering Tricon

© Oben links: ÖBB, oben rechts: Rendering Tricon

CITYJET

Auch der Cityjet wurde so gestaltet, dass er seinen Passagieren mobilen Lebensraum und individuelle Geborgenheit bietet. Hohe Qualität und ein durchdachtes, tageszeitgesteuertes Lichtdesign runden das stimmige und innovative Gesamtbild ab und vermitteln den Fahrgästen ein Gefühl von Komfort und Sicherheit.

© ÖBB

© ÖBB

© ÖBB

© ÖBB

RAILJET

Form, Farbe sowie Linienführung des Railjets vermitteln ein Gefühl von Dynamik und Geschwindigkeit.

© Rendering Tricon

more from
ÖBB-Personenverkehr AG